It has already been shown that this is a fig leaf. Users that did not consent to sharing their data have had their images uploaded to external services without their consent.
The users in this case had given permission for their data to be used for training (or at least hadn't opted out). They had not, of course, given permission for their data to be shared publicly or with a third party in this way. Consequently, OpenAI categorized this as a breach (i.e., something they did not intend to do), and sought to rectify the situation.
The users in this case had given permission for their data to be used for training (or at least hadn't opted out). They had not, of course, given permission for their data to be shared publicly or with a third party in this way. Consequently, OpenAI categorized this as a breach (i.e., something they did not intend to do), and sought to rectify the situation.