points by InsideOutSanta 8 hours ago | 0 comments
Can I have the opposite, a tool that automatically clicks on "allow"? I installed the app, it's fine.
[–] Qerub 6 hours ago
You can allow-list certain IP address ranges to not need the local network permission and I believe that should stop the popup from appearing (but I'm not sure). See https://developer.apple.com/documentation/technotes/tn3179-u... for more information, TL;DR:
sudo defaults write com.apple.network.local-network AllowedEthernetLocalNetworkAddresses -array "169.254.0.0/16"
sudo defaults write com.apple.network.local-network AllowedWiFiLocalNetworkAddresses -array "169.254.0.0/16"[–] lysace 1 hour ago
Thanks for writing and then sharing this document. (Kidding. Thanks though.)
[–] mostlysimilar 7 hours ago
Sometimes you need to use a particular piece of software but don't want all of its functionality. You're allowed to want some but not all.
[–] ASalazarMX 7 hours ago
I don't know what Apple is looking for. The iPhone ships with a Weather app preinstalled, you allow it to your location so it can warn of severe weather, and several weeks later "OMG WEATHER APP IS USING YOUR LOCATION!!11!".
Same with MDM agents. Ours are installed automatically as part of the Apple Business Manager configuration, we manually grant them precise location in the background, and months later "HEY USER, WANNA BLOCK LOCATION FROM 'MDM SERVICE'?".
Edit: To avoid replying to the two following comments with the same reply, my gripe is not about the notification, that's a good thing; my gripe is with their implementation, which seems very in tune with Apple's way of complying with regulations. There are definitely many user-friendly ways to handle privacy compared to seemingly random notifications.
[–] sam1714 7 hours ago
The first scenario is due to anti-trust complaints forcing Apple to treat their pre-installed apps identically to third-party ones. (Also why you can "delete" system apps.)
[–] VCFundedGenYer 7 hours ago
That was due to antitrust pressure such that they did not self-prefer their own apps.
[–] cowlevel 4 hours ago
You'd think that would force them to make the third party app experience as good as the first party app experience. Instead, they did the opposite...
[–] aesthesia 3 hours ago
Seems like this is a signal that they in fact take the privacy concerns seriously?
[–] bdavbdav 7 hours ago
Doubly annoying as it asks for the widget separately.
[–] cwmoore 7 hours ago
So many smart people and yet such a stupid timeline.
Usability psychology is well documented.
[–] InsideOutSanta 7 hours ago
I didn't say you weren't. I'm asking for myself, not for you.
[–] mostlysimilar 7 hours ago
Okay, to me it reads like a lazy swipe. You seem to be aware of the power of AI to build you whatever you want, so why ask this question like this? It seems like you're just trying to tell people they should fully trust the software they install.
[–] InsideOutSanta 6 hours ago
No, I'm very obviously not, and the only lazy swipe was your response.
[–] johncassil 7 hours ago
I assume that is a quick fork and publish, but seems scary lol
[–] nobleach 7 hours ago
[–] InsideOutSanta 7 hours ago
Yes.
> And with each new update you're re-evaluate?
No. Hope that helps.
[–] danpalmer 3 hours ago
I've never had a case of this where the access was malicious, and devices on my network have security controls. For me this popup is exceptionally low value.
[–] prepend 7 hours ago
[–] reaperducer 6 hours ago
[–] daveidol 4 hours ago
[–] ryandrake 5 hours ago